close logo

Grateful To Gurus 2023

Grateful To Gurus 2023

Sankara Bhagavadpada speaks again and again about the importance of the Guru. He asks ”What does it matter if a man is important in many ways? Of what use is it if his mind is not bound to the lotus feet of his guru.” Tatah Kim? Tatah Kim? It is this direction that INDICA takes very seriously. Even if a guru does not seek “gurutva” on his own, when he has a disciple, he immediately illuminates any subject that the disciple seeks.

Grateful to Gurus 2023 was deeply meaningful, paying homage to revered teachers who have dedicated their lives to preserving and propagating the rich heritage of Sanathana Dharma. The honouring took place at various places on the auspicious occasion of Guru Purnima, exemplifying the Vedic tradition of honouring Gurus as embodiments of Brahmavidya, the ultimate knowledge.

The ceremonies began with traditional rituals symbolising reverence and devotion, such as washing the feet of the Gurus, lighting the lamp, and offering various sacred items like kumkumam, vermilion, and flowers. The atmosphere was filled with a spiritual aura as members of INDICA expressed their gratitude and sought blessings from the esteemed Gurus for their ongoing efforts in preserving Dharma.

A total of 18 eminent Gurus were honoured, representing a diverse range of expertise including Dharmacharyas, scholars, humanists, and social leaders. Among them were luminaries like Sadatmananda Saraswati Swamiji, Swamini Svatmavidyananda Saraswati, and Satyanarayana Dasa Babaji, who have made significant contributions to spiritual teachings and practices.

INDICA acknowledged the invaluable contributions of scholars such as Vidwan Brahmashri Mudigonda Shankara Sharma Garu and Prof K. Ramasubramaniam, whose expertise in Vaidika scholarship and academia have been instrumental in preserving traditional knowledge systems.

Gratitude was expressed to Yogashree N.V Raghuram, Shri S. Sridharan, Smt Alamelu Mani, and Bharatakalamani Dr. C. Radhakrishna in popularizing and preserving various aspects of Indian culture, including yoga, music, and dance.

The contributions of practitioners and researchers in fields like Ayurveda, ancient Indian history, and culture were also honoured, including figures like Dr. Mala Kapadia, Prof Chandrabhushan Jha, Prof R. N. Iyengar, and Dr. PR Mukund.

Special homage was paid to exceptional academics and practitioners like Dr. S. Ramaratnam and Dr. Mark Dyczkowski, who have dedicated their lives to the study and dissemination of ancient Indian traditions and knowledge.

We are grateful for the services of Shri D.V. Sridharan of INDICA, whose philanthropic endeavours and mentorship have left an indelible mark on the lives of our members, embodying the spirit of selflessness and kindness.

Dr. Mala Kapadia, Prof. Dr. Chandra Bhushan Jha, Dr. D K Hari and Dr. D K Hema Hari, Sri D V Sridharan, Dr. S Ramaratnam, Prof. P. R. Mukund and Sri Srinivasaraghavan Sridharan were honoured at Tattvaloka, Chennai, a unit of the Sringeri Sarada Peetham, underscoring the commitment to spreading the sacred teachings enshrined in the scriptures and imparted by spiritual masters.

Swamini Svatmavidyananda Saraswati, Dr. Nanditha Krishna, Yogashree .N. V. Raghuram, Vidushi Smt. Alamelu Mani, Bharatakalamani, Dr. C. Radhakrishna, Prof R. N. Iyengar, Prof. Dr. Krishnamurthy Ramasubramanian, Dr. Satyanarayana Das Babaji, Vid. Bhr. Shri. Mudigonda Shankara Sharma Garu, Swami Sadatmananda Saraswati ji and Dr. Mark S.G. Dyczkowski were honoured at their homes.

Overall, Grateful to Gurus 2023 was a heartfelt expression of gratitude and reverence to Gurus who are inspiring future generations to carry forward the legacy of knowledge and spirituality.